The Banshees of Inisherin leads the pack as critics in London announce the nominations

Martin McDonagh’s The Banshees of Inisherin cemented its place as frontrunner in the year-end awards race after the London Critics’ Circle announced its award nominations. The Banshees of Inisherin lead the field with nine, just ahead of their debut Aftersun which had eight.

The Banshees of Inisherin’, which reunites McDonagh with his In Bruges co-stars Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson, and is McDonagh’s first film since the Oscar-winning crime drama Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, has been nominated for Film of the Year and British/Irish Film. the year; Farrell and Gleeson are nominated for Actor and Supporting Actor of the Year, respectively, and co-stars Barry Keoghan and Kerry Condon are also nominated for Supporting Actor and Actress. Farrell is also up for British/Irish Actor of the Year, while McDonagh is nominated for Director and Screenwriter of the Year.

The widely acclaimed father-daughter drama, directed by Charlotte Wells for the first time, has bested a string of heavyweights to pick up eight nominations: Welles takes home Director and Screenwriter of the Year, while the lead actors of Paul Mescal and Frankie Curio are nominated for Best Actor. of the year and Best Young British/Irish Actor of the Year respectively.

Other strong casts include three films over six nominations: Michelle Yeoh starring in the comedy Everything Everywhere, including Actress of the Year for Yeoh, and the classical music drama Tàr, including nods for Cate Blanchett and Nina Hoss for Actress and Supporting Actress. . year in a row, and the faith-drama The Wonder, set in Ireland, which has Florence Pugh and Kyla Lord Cassidy nominated as Young British/Irish Actress and Artist of the Year.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on February 5th.

Full list of nominations

movie of the year
after the sun
All beauty and bloodshed
Anisherin from Inisherin
Decision to leave
Everything everywhere at once
Top Gun: Maverick

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year
Decision to leave
The quiet girl

Documentary of the Year
It all breathes
All beauty and bloodshed
the fire of love
Kurt Vonnegut: Not Stuck in Time
Monague Daydreaming

Best British/Irish Film of the Year
after the sun
Anisherin from Inisherin
The quiet girl

Todd Field – Library
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert – everything is everywhere at once
Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin
Park Chan-wook – Decision to leave
Charlotte Wells – Afterson

screenwriter of the year
Todd Field – Library
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert – everything is everywhere at once
Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin
Steven Spielberg, Tony Kushner – Fablemans
Charlotte Wells – Afterson

an actress of the year
Cate Blanchett – Library
Ana de Armas – blonde
Vicky Krebs – Corsage
Florence Bio – Wonderland
Michelle Yeoh – Everything everywhere at once

representative of the year
Austin Butler – Elvis
Colin Farrell – Shamar Inisherin
Brendan Fraser – Pisces
Paul Mescal – Afterson
Bill Nighy – The Living

Supporting Actress of the year
Hong Chau – Pisces
Kerry Condon – The Banshees Of Insherin
Dolly de Leon – Triangle of Sadness
Nina Hoss – Tar
Guslagie Malanda – The best of Saint Omer

co-actor of the year
Tom Burke – Wonderland
Brendan Gleeson – Ancherine
Brian Tyree Henry – Causeway
Barry Keoghan – The Banshees of Inisherin
Ke Huy Quan – Everything is everywhere at once

Best British/Irish Actress (Action Body)
Jessie Buckley – Men, Scrooge: A Christmas Carol, Women Talk
Olivia Colman – Empire of Light, Joyride, Puss in Boots: The Last Wish, Scrooge: A Christmas Carol
Florence Bio – Don’t Worry My Wonderland
Emma Thompson – Good Luck to You, Leo Grande, Roald Dahl’s Musical Matilda
Letitia Wright – Aisha, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, The Silent Twins

British/Irish Actor of the Year (Bodywork)
Harris Dickinson – Watch How They Run, Triangle of Sorrow, as the Crawdads sing
Colin Farrell – After Yang, Inisherin’s Parents, Batman, Thirteen Lives
Ralph Fiennes – The Forgiven, The Menu
Paul Mescal – Afterson
Bill Nighy – The Living

British/Irish director’s breakthrough
Katie Brand – Good luck to you, Leo Grande
Colm Barrett – The Quiet Girl
Frances O’Connor – Emily
Georgia Oakley – Blue Jean
Charlotte Wells – Afterson

Young British/Irish artist
Kayla Lord Cassidy – Wonderland
Catherine Clinch – The Quiet Girl
Frankie Corio – Afterson
Bella Ramsey – Catherine Cold Birdie
Alicia Weir – Roald Dahl’s Musical Matilda

British/Irish Short Film of the Year
fox at night
Message to black men

Technical Achievement Award
Athena – Matthias Bocard, cinematography
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Ruth E Carter, costume
Blonde – Leslie Schatz, sound design
The Decision to Leave – Kim Ji Young, cinematography
Elvis – Catherine Martin, costume
Everything is everywhere at once – Paul Rogers, Film Editing
Pinocchio the Bull – Brian Leif Hansen, animation
RRR – Nick Powell, Stunts
Tarr – Stephen Griffiths, sound design
Wonderland – Nina Gold, casting

#Banshees #Inisherin #leads #pack #critics #London #announce #nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *